• Following a review of 27 letters of intent, SYNERGY invited 12 full applications, and after a detailed review, selected five awardees. Aligning with SYNERGY’s mission of fostering collaborative interactions between basic, translational, and health services researchers, the awardees come from diverse Dartmouth schools and departments. Here are this year's awards:
    • Leah Gitajn, MD, Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery and Shudong Jiang, PhD, Associate Professor, Thayer School of Engineering - A Pilot Study Evaluating Bone and Tissue Perfusion and Oxygen...
  • Research led by past SYNERGY Scholar and Dartmouth Institute Associate Professor Samir Soneji, PhD, was selected by the American Society of Clinical Oncology for inclusion in Clinical Cancer Advances 2018, the Society's annual review of progress against cancer and emerging trends in the field. The study, "Association between initial Use of e-Cigarettes and Subsequent Cigarette Smoking Among Adolescents and Young Adults: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis" is featured as one of the year's major achievements in clinical cancer research and care. Previous research by Soneji has found higher... details
  • Two graduate student researchers from the Geisel School of Medicine, Heidi Chapman and Riley Hampsch, have been awarded paid internships to the local biotechnology company Celdara Medical as recipients of 2017 Dartmouth SYNERGY/ Celdara Medical High-Potential Entrepreneurs’ Fellowships (DS-CHEF). The DS-CHEF program provides part-time (one day per week over a nine-month period) experiential learning opportunities to graduate students and post-doctoral researchers affiliated with Dartmouth—giving them exposure to many of the functions of an entrepreneurial organization while allowing them to... details
  • Announcing the 2017-2018 SYNERGY Scholars Mentored Career Development Award recipient:

    Christina Angeles, MD, Assistant Professor of Surgery
    Project Title: Skin-resident T-cell memory in melanoma patients
    Mentor: Mary Jo Turk, PhD, Associate Professor, Microbiology / Immunology
    Mentor: Rick Barth, MD, Professor, Surgical Oncology
    For additional Information on the Scholars Program, please see:
  • A team of researchers at Dartmouth’s Geisel School of Medicine, led by Tor Tosteson, ScD, has been approved for a $1 million funding award from the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) to design new methods for comparing the effectiveness of alternative therapies that can lead to improvements in practice and better outcomes for patients. The three-year project is called “Randomize Everyone: Creating Valid Instrumental Variables for Learning Health Care Systems.” The multidisciplinary study team includes methodologists Todd MacKenzie, Tracy Onega, Steven Andrews, and Karen... details

  • Article in Geisel Insider by Tim Dean:

    When Alan I. Green, MD, was a young faculty member at Harvard Medical School in the early 1980s, committed to both practicing psychiatry and doing research, he often sought the counsel of one of his mentors, Joseph Schildkraut, MD, a physician-researcher in psychiatry.

    “I would go to his office with an idea and he would say, ‘Okay; show me all of the steps that got you to your research question,’” recalls Green, chair of psychiatry at the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth and director of SYNERGY,... details
  • Through a newly designed pilot grant program directed to the 62 primary care sites of the Dartmouth CO-OP Practice Based Research Network (PBRN), SYNERGY Community Engaged Research has selected three CO-OP pilot projects for funding. The Dartmouth CO-OP is the oldest PBRN in the US, and these special awards support clinician researchers and emphasize the community’s critical role in developing and translating knowledge into improvements in health.

    SYNERGY Community Engaged Research is also pleased to announce a special partnership with Maine Medical Center Research Institute (... details
  • Health economist Carrie Colla, a former SYNERGY scholar and associate professor at The Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice, has been chosen to participate in the 2017-2018 Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health Policy Fellows program. Colla was one of only six mid-career professionals selected to spend a year in Washington, D.C., working on health-related legislative and regulatory issues with members of Congress and the executive branch. Fellows are chosen from a highly competitive national pool of health, behavioral, and social science professionals.... details
  • The Graduate Faculty Mentoring Award is presented annually to faculty members who exemplify a deep commitment to fostering the professional and personal development of graduate students, and are selected from nominations from the community. One of two awardees this year was Yolanda Sanchez, Associate Professor of Molecular and Systems Biology and Associate Director for Basic Sciences, Norris Cotton Cancer Center.

    According to the National Institutes of Health, “the best mentors are advisors, coaches, counselors and supporters all at the same time. They are experienced scientists... details
  • Announcing the 2017 SYNERGY Translational Pilot Grant Awards

    Congratulations to the 2017 SYNERGY Translational Pilot Grant Awardees! Following a review of 35 letters of intent, SYNERGY invited 14 full applications from which six awardees were selected. Aligning with SYNERGY’s mission of fostering collaborative interactions between basic, translational, and health services researchers, the awardees come from diverse Dartmouth schools and departments.

    John Batsis, MD (Associate Professor, Medicine and TDI) and David Kotz, PhD (Professor, Computer Science) -... details